Practical information

The Cathedral is closed.

The Cathedral of Notre-Dame de Paris is a Catholic church.

A Cathedral of art and history

The Treasure

The "Treasure of the Cathedral" contains various objects of interest, mainly pieces of silverware, liturgical ornaments, ancient works, elements from the ancient treasure of the Holy Chapel, documents relating to the Restoration of the cathedral in the nineteenth century and some personalities, including Paul Claudel, who were marked by Notre-Dame de Paris.

The Towers

The circuit of the tours of Notre-Dame makes it possible to visit all the high parts of the western facade dating from the 13th century, to contemplate the gargoyles and the chimeric sculptures built by the nineteenth century and the bumblebee Of the seventeenth century.

The Crypt

The archaeological crypt under the forecourt of Notre-Dame de Paris was set up to protect the vestiges discovered during the excavations carried out from 1965, by the Commission of Old Paris (Department of History of Architecture and archaeology). This space opened its doors in 1980 with the aim of presenting the elements of the buildings that took place on the site of antiquity in the nineteenth century.

Unusual information

Did you know that there are bees at Notre Dame? To go further, discover all the unusual information that the cathedral hides!

Light a candle at Notre-Dame

Informations pratiques

La cathédrale est fermée.

La cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris est une église catholique.

Une Cathédrale d’art et d’histoire

Le trésor

Le « Trésor de la cathédrale », contient divers objets d’intérêt, principalement des pièces d’orfèvreries, des ornements liturgiques, des ouvrages anciens, des éléments provenant de l’ancien trésor de la Sainte-Chapelle, des documents relatifs à la restauration de la cathédrale au XIXe siècle et à quelques personnalités, dont Paul Claudel, qui furent marquées par Notre-Dame de Paris.

Les tours

Le circuit des tours de Notre-Dame permet de visiter l’ensemble des parties hautes de la façade occidentale datées du XIIIème siècle, de contempler les gargouilles et les sculptures chimériques construites par Viollet-le-Duc au XIXème siècle ainsi que le Bourdon du XVIIème siècle.

La crypte

La crypte archéologique sous le parvis de Notre-Dame de Paris a été aménagée pour protéger les vestiges découverts lors des fouilles réalisées à partir de 1965, par la Commission du Vieux Paris (Département d’Histoire de l’Architecture et d’Archéologie). Cet espace a ouvert ses portes en 1980 avec pour objectif la présentation des éléments des bâtiments qui se sont succédés sur le site de l’Antiquité au XIXème siècle.

Informations insolites

Saviez-vous qu’il y a des abeilles à Notre-Dame ? Pour aller plus loin, découvrez toutes les informations insolites que cache la Cathédrale !

allumer une bougie à notre-dame