Saint DENIS

Bishop

Born in the Christian community of Lyon, Saint Denis was sent to Paris to build the Church in the 3rd century. He became the first bishop.

In the year 257, it was Beheaded in Montmartre with his companions after being spotted by a Roman Governor. He would then have risen, walking for six kilometers with his head in his arms, and would have given the latter to a believer before collapsing. It is in this place that the Basilica of Saint-Denis was built to pay tribute to the Bishop.

His martyr is mentioned several times in Notre-Dame de Paris:

– (1) at the portal of the Virgin, on the left of the façade, Saint Denis, surrounded by two angels, is recognizable by the head which he carries in his hands; at his feet, a man holding an axe, while a sign presents the executioner's package;

– (2) at the southern gate, dedicated to Saint Stephen, Deacon who was the first of the Christian martyrs, Saint Denis is again represented: here he holds his skull cap and not the head; at his side, his two fellow martyrs: the priest Éleuthère and the rustic Deacon ;

– (3) in the South rose, a medallion depicts him holding his head on his knees;

– his martyr is also on a wooden panel of the choir stalls;

– (4) a statue of Nicolas Coustou, in the north transept, represents him;

– in the large verrières of the choir, he is represented in the middle of the Bishops of Paris;

– the Cardinal Lustiger wanted them to be represented in a contemporary way, above the Ambon of the sanctuary, by the artist Jean Touret.

Light a candle at Notre-Dame

Saint DENIS

Évêque

Issu de la communauté chrétienne de Lyon, Saint Denis fut envoyé à Paris pour y fonder l’Église au IIIe siècle. Il en devint le premier évêque.

En l’an 257, il fut décapité à Montmartre avec ses compagnons après avoir été repéré par un gouverneur romain. Il se serait alors relevé, marchant pendant six kilomètres avec sa tête dans les bras, et aurait donné cette dernière à une croyante avant de s’écrouler. C’est en ce lieux que la basilique de Saint-Denis fut construite pour rendre hommage à l’évêque.

Son martyr est évoqué plusieurs fois à Notre-Dame de Paris :

– (1) au portail de la Vierge, à gauche de la façade, Saint Denis, entouré de deux anges, est reconnaissable à la tête qu’il porte entre ses mains ; à ses pieds, un homme tenant une hache, tandis qu’un panneau présente le forfait du bourreau ;

– (2) au portail sud, dédié à saint Étienne, diacre qui fut le premier des martyrs chrétiens, Saint Denis est à nouveau représenté : ici, il tient sa calotte crânienne et non la tête ; à ses côtés, ses deux compagnons martyrs : le prêtre Éleuthère et le diacre Rustique ;

– (3) dans la Rose Sud, un médaillon le représente tenant sa tête sur ses genoux ;

– son martyr figure également sur un panneau de bois des stalles du chœur ;

– (4) une statue de Nicolas Coustou, dans le transept nord, le représente ;

– dans les grandes verrières du chœur, il est représenté au milieu des évêques de Paris ;

– le Cardinal Lustiger a voulu qu’ils soient représentés de manière contemporaine, au-dessus de l’ambon du sanctuaire, par l’artiste Jean Touret.

allumer une bougie à notre-dame