FAQ

La cathédrale est actuellement fermée.

CAN WE CELEBRATE A BAPTISM, A WEDDING, A FUNERAL AT NOTRE-DAME DE PARIS?

Every day of the year, Masses, Vespers and sacrament of Reconciliation are celebrated at Notre-Dame de Paris. The cathedral is no longer a parish, baptisms, marriages and funerals no longer celebrate.

To prepare your child's baptism, your marriage, a funeral, we invite you to come into contact with the priests of the parishes closest to your home. You can find the contact information on the website of your diocese.

If you live in Paris, visit: paris.catholique.fr. Or more widely for France: eglise.catholique.fr.

IS THE CATHEDRAL ACCESSIBLE TO PEOPLE WITH REDUCED MOBILITY?

The cathedral is fully accessible to people with reduced mobility.

Note: Small walk to access portals and then walk on the ground floor.

IS THE CATHEDRAL OPEN ON PUBLIC HOLIDAYS? WHEN IS IT OPEN?

The cathedral is open every day of the year from 7:45 to 18h45 (19h15 on Saturdays and Sundays), without interruption – except for rare exceptions for security reasons. Nocturnes are offered from May to October allowing access on certain evenings of the week.

WHERE IS THE CATHEDRAL? HOW TO ACCESS IT?

The cathedral is located on the Ile de la Cité, in the historic heart of Paris, next to the Hôtel-Dieu and the Police prefecture, a few metres from the courthouse and the Holy Chapel. For more information on how to get to the cathedral, visit The "access to the Cathedral" page

IS THE ENTRANCE TO THE CATHEDRAL PAYING?

The Cathedral of Notre-Dame de Paris is a church. property of the state, the clergy is receiving for the Roman Catholic cult. Its access is free and free. Only access to the shopping tour of the Cathedral Towers (managed by the Caisse des Monuments nationales) and the Treasury are paid.

HOW TO ATTEND A LITURGICAL CELEBRATION? DO I HAVE TO PAY? BOOK?

To attend one of the many liturgical celebrations of the cathedral (masses, Offices...) All you need to do is to join the audience a few minutes before the start of the celebration (at least 15 to 30 minutes for the big parties).

Participation in liturgical celebrations is public and free, no reservation is necessary.

HOW TO ACCESS THE CATHEDRAL TOWERS?

Access to the Shopping tour of the Cathedral towers (Managed by the Centre of National Monuments) is outside, at the foot of the North Tower in the street of the cloister located on the left flank of the cathedral.

DO WE HAVE TO WAIT IN LINE TO ENTER THE CATHEDRAL?

In ordinary times, access to the cathedral is easy and quick. Due to the great affluence of the faithful and visitors, it can happen that it may be slightly slowed down, but still reasonable (especially in summer and approaching the great liturgical feasts: Christmas, Holy Week, Assumption).

Light a candle at Notre-Dame

FAQ

PEUT-ON CÉLÉBRER UN BAPTÊME, UN MARIAGE, DES FUNÉRAILLES À NOTRE-DAME DE PARIS ?

Chaque jour de l’année, messes, vêpres et sacrement de la réconciliation sont célébrés à Notre-Dame de Paris. La cathédrale n’étant plus une paroisse, baptêmes, mariages et funérailles ne s’y célèbrent plus.

Pour préparer le baptême de votre enfant, votre mariage, des funérailles, nous vous invitons à entrer en contact avec les prêtres des paroisses les plus proches de votre domicile. Vous pourrez trouver les coordonnées de ces derniers sur le site internet de votre diocèse.

Si vous habitez Paris, consultez : www.diocese-paris.net. Ou plus largement pour la France : www.cef.fr.

LA CATHÉDRALE EST-ELLE ACCESSIBLE AUX PERSONNES À MOBILITÉ RÉDUITE ?

La cathédrale est entièrement accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite.

A noter : petite marche à franchir aux portails d’accès puis plain-pied.

LA CATHÉDRALE EST-ELLE OUVERTE LES JOURS FÉRIÉS ? QUAND EST-ELLE OUVERTE ?

La Cathédrale est ouverte, tous les jours de l’année, de 7h45 à 18h45 (19h15 le samedi et le dimanche), sans interruption – sauf rares exceptions pour raison de sécurité. Des nocturnes sont proposées de mai à octobre permettant l’accès certains soirs de la semaine.

OÙ SE TROUVE LA CATHÉDRALE ? COMMENT Y ACCÉDER ?

La Cathédrale se situe sur l’île de la Cité, au cœur historique de Paris, à côté de l’Hôtel-Dieu et de la Préfecture de Police, à quelques mètres du Palais de Justice et de la Sainte Chapelle. Pour plus de renseignements pour vous rendre à la cathédrale, consultez la page « accéder à la cathédrale »

L’ENTRÉE DE LA CATHÉDRALE EST-ELLE PAYANTE ?

La cathédrale Notre-dame de Paris est une église. Propriété de l’Etat, le clergé en est affectataire pour le culte Catholique Romain. Son accès est libre et gratuit. Seuls les accès au Circuit commercial de visite des Tours de la cathédrale (géré par la Caisse des Monuments Nationaux) et au Trésor sont payants.

COMMENT ASSISTER À UNE CÉLÉBRATION LITURGIQUE ? FAUT-IL PAYER ? RÉSERVER ?

Pour assister à l’une des nombreuses célébrations liturgiques de la cathédrale (messes, offices…) il vous suffit de vous joindre à l’assistance quelques minutes avant le début de la célébration (au moins 15 à 30 minutes pour les grandes fêtes).

Vous pouvez consulter l’agenda des célébrations sur cette page.

La participation aux célébrations liturgiques est publique et gratuite, aucune réservation n’est nécessaire.

COMMENT ACCÉDER AUX TOURS DE LA CATHÉDRALE ?

L’accès au Circuit commercial de visite des Tours de la Cathédrale (géré par le Centre des Monuments Nationaux) se fait à l’extérieur, au pied de la Tour Nord dans la Rue du Cloître située sur le flanc gauche de la cathédrale.

FAUT-IL FAIRE LA QUEUE POUR ENTRER À LA CATHÉDRALE ?

En temps ordinaire, l’accès à la Cathédrale est aisé et rapide. En raison de la grande affluence des fidèles et visiteurs, il peut arriver qu’il soit légèrement ralenti, dans des proportions demeurant toutefois raisonnables (notamment en été et à l’approche des grandes fêtes liturgiques : Noël, Semaine Sainte, Assomption).

allumer une bougie à notre-dame