The arrow

A first arrow was built above the crossroads of the transept around 1250. It was a bell tower which featured in the seventeenth century up to five bells. It was dismantled in 1786 to 1792.

One first arrow was built above the crossroads of the transept around 1250. It was a bell tower which featured in the 17th century up to five bells. It was dismantled in 1786 to 1792.

Viollet-le-Ducat the time of the restoration of the Cathedral, decides to implement a second arrow which the framing would be independent of the forest on an octagonal base based on the four pillars of the transept.

In 1860, it loads the Carpenter Bellu of this work. The model is that of the arrow double-decker imagined in Orleans in 1852 that departs fundamentally from that of the 13th century. In addition, this arrow is no longer a Bell Tower.

The arrow dominates the vert-de-grise copper statues of Twelve Apostles with the symbols of four evangelists. Viollet-le-Duc was representing himself in the guise of St. Thomas with its square. It seems to contemplate the top of his "big Œuvre".

A few figures impressive: 500 tons of wood, 250 tonnes of lead, a height of 93 m from the ground.

Finally, the Rooster located at the top of the Spire contains three relics : a piece of the Holy Crown of thorns, a relic of Saint Denis and one of sainte Geneviève. It is a real "spiritual lightning" protecting all those and all those who work for the praise of God, inside the Cathedral, icon of the heavenly Jerusalem. This is the cardinal Verdier, Archbishop of Paris, who replaced them in the presence of the chapter of canons on October 25, 1935.

 

ND-Paris_4787

ND-Paris-2_5012

ND-Paris_6486

ND-Paris_6513

ND-Paris_7236

ND-Paris-11_7207

ND-Paris_7151

Light a candle to Our Lady

La flèche

Une première flèche fut construite au-dessus de la croisée du transept vers 1250. C’était un clocher qui a comporté au XVIIème siècle jusqu’à cinq cloches. Elle fut démontée de 1786 à 1792.

Une première flèche fut construite au-dessus de la croisée du transept vers 1250. C’était un clocher qui a comporté au XVIIe siècle jusqu’à cinq cloches. Elle fut démontée de 1786 à 1792.

Viollet-le-Duc, au moment des travaux de restauration de la cathédrale, décide de mettre en place une seconde flèche dont la charpente serait indépendante de celle de la forêt sur une base octogonale prenant appui sur les quatre piliers du transept.

En 1860, il charge le charpentier Bellu de ces travaux. Le modèle est celui de la flèche à deux étages imaginée à Orléans en 1852 qui s’éloigne fondamentalement de celle du XIIIe siècle. De plus, cette flèche n’est plus un clocher.

La flèche domine les statues de cuivre vert-de-grisé des douze apôtres avec les symboles des quatre évangélistes. Viollet-le-Duc s’est fait représenter lui-même sous les traits de saint Thomas avec son équerre. Il semble contempler le sommet de son « Grand Œuvre ».

Quelques chiffres impressionnants : 500 tonnes de bois, 250 tonnes de plomb, une hauteur de 93 m depuis le sol.

Enfin, le coq situé au sommet de la flèche contient trois reliques : une parcelle de la Sainte Couronne d’épines, une relique de saint Denis et une de sainte Geneviève. Il constitue ainsi un véritable « paratonnerre spirituel » protégeant tous ceux et toutes celles qui œuvrent pour la louange de Dieu, à l‘intérieur de la cathédrale, icône de la Jérusalem céleste. C’est le cardinal Verdier, archevêque de Paris, qui les replaça en présence du chapitre des chanoines le 25 octobre 1935.

 

ND-Paris_4787

ND-Paris-2_5012

ND-Paris_6486

ND-Paris_6513

ND-Paris_7236

ND-Paris-11_7207

ND-Paris_7151

allumer une bougie à notre-dame