The frame

The framing of Notre-Dame de Paris is certainly one of the oldest structures in Paris with that of Saint-Pierre de Montmartre (1147).

The framing of Notre-Dame de Paris is certainly one of the oldest structures in Paris with that of Saint-Pierre de Montmartre (1147) which is the main vestige of the great Abbey of the ladies of Montmartre founded by Queen Adelaide of Savoy , wife of King Louis VI the fat; and, also, elements of that of Saint-Germain des Prés (1160-1170).

This set is given the romantic name of forest due to large number of beams It was necessary to use to put it in place, each beam coming from a different tree. It's an oak frame. Its dimensions are impressive: more than 100 m in length, 13 m in width in the nave, 40 m in the transept and 10 m in height.

Technically, with Gothic, the setting up of warheads necessitated steep roofs; Notre-Dame de Paris are 55 °. Moreover, the scarcity of large timber, due to deforestation and urban development at that time, made it necessary to use lower and therefore lighter-section timber that allowed the elevation of the frames and the increase of their slope.

In the choir there was a first frame with wood slaughtered around 1160-1170 (it is estimated that some may have 300 to 400 years, which brings us to the 8Th or 9Th centuries!!!). This first frame has disappeared, but wood has been reused in the second frame set up in 1220. They're still here today.. Why this second frame?
– Fire is not impossible.
– But above all, raising the gutter wall of 2.70 m in the choir to bring it into conformity with that of the nave.
– And also, enlarging the tall Windows.

In the nave, the frame is set up between 1220 and 1240. Indeed, the work of the nave began in 1182, after the consecration of the choir. Some even think from 1175, before the consecration. The work stopped after the fourth span leaving the nave unfinished while the elevation of the façade was begun in 1208. The work of the nave will be resumed in 1218 to counter the façade.

 

On this frame is a lead roofing consisting of 1326 tables of 5 mm thick weighing 210 tonnes. In the 11th and 12Th centuries, the roofs of flat-tiled churches were covered because of the abundant deposits of clay. Paris, being far from such deposits, he preferred the lead. In 1196, Bishop Maurice de Sully bequeathed by testament 5 000 pounds for the purchase of lead.

If the structures of the choir and the nave have crossed the centuries, the transepts and the Arrow were redone in the mid-nineteenth century during the great restoration campaign of the Cathedral under the direction of The Duke. Carried out according to the principles then in force, it differs from the structure of the choir and the nave, in particular as regards the dimensions of the beams which are far more imposing than those of the middle ages and more spaced.

 

51_ND-Paris_3267

ND-Paris _ 3236

52_ND-Paris_3235R

ND-Paris _3225r

ND-Paris _ 3213

ND-Paris _3207r

52_ND-Paris_3204R

ND-Paris _9736r

ND-Paris _ 7280 (2)

ND-Paris _ 7167

ND-Paris _ 7151 (1)

ND-Paris-11_ 7150

ND-Paris _ 6542

 

Light a candle at Notre-Dame

La charpente

La charpente de Notre-Dame de Paris est certainement l’une des plus anciennes charpentes que l’on ait à Paris avec celle de Saint-Pierre de Montmartre (1147).

La charpente de Notre-Dame de Paris est certainement l’une des plus anciennes charpentes que l’on ait à Paris avec celle de Saint-Pierre de Montmartre (1147) qui est le principal vestige de la grande abbaye des Dames de Montmartre fondée par la reine Adélaïde de Savoie, épouse du roi Louis VI le Gros ; et, également, des éléments de celle de Saint-Germain des Prés (1160-1170).

On donne à cet ensemble le nom romantique de forêt en raison de grand nombre de poutres qu’il a fallu utiliser pour la mettre en place, chaque poutre provenant d’un arbre différent. C’est une charpente de chênes. Ses dimensions sont impressionnantes : plus de 100 m de longueur, 13 m de largeur dans la nef, 40 m dans le transept et 10 m de hauteur.

Techniquement, avec le gothique, la mise en place des ogives a nécessité des toitures à forte pente ; celles de Notre-Dame de Paris sont de 55°. De plus, la raréfaction de gros bois, en raison des défrichements et du développement urbain à cette époque, a rendu nécessaire l’utilisation de bois à section plus faible et donc plus légers qui ont permis l’élévation des charpentes et l’accentuation de leur pente.

Dans le chœur, il a existé une première charpente avec des bois abattus vers 1160-1170 (on estime que certains pouvaient avoir 300 à 400 ans, ce qui nous amène au VIIIe ou IXe siècles !!!). Cette première charpente a disparu, mais des bois ont été réutilisés dans la seconde charpente mise en place en 1220. Ils sont toujours là aujourd’hui. Pourquoi cette seconde charpente ?
– Incendie, ce n’est pas impossible.
– Mais surtout, rehaussement du mur goutterot de 2,70 m dans le chœur pour le mettre en conformité avec celui de la nef.
– Et aussi, agrandissement des fenêtres hautes.

Dans la nef, la charpente est mise en place entre 1220 et 1240. En effet, les travaux de la nef sont commencés en 1182, après la consécration du chœur. Certains pensent même dès 1175, avant la consécration. Les travaux s’arrêtent après la quatrième travée laissant inachevée la nef tandis qu’est commencée l’élévation de la façade en 1208. Les travaux de la nef seront repris en 1218 pour contrebuter la façade.

 

Sur cette charpente repose une toiture de plomb constituée de 1326 tables de 5 mm d’épaisseur pesant 210 tonnes. Aux XIe et XIIe siècles, on couvrait les toits des églises de tuiles plates en raison des abondants gisements d’argile. Paris, étant loin de tels gisements, on lui préféra le plomb. En 1196, l’évêque Maurice de Sully lègue par testament 5 000 livres pour l’achat de plomb.

Si les charpentes du chœur et de la nef ont traversé les siècles, celles des transepts et de la flèche furent refaites au milieu du XIXe siècle lors de la grande campagne de restauration de la cathédrale sous la direction de Viollet-le-Duc. Réalisées selon les principes alors en vigueur, elle diffèrent des charpentes du chœur et de la nef, en particulier quant aux dimensions des poutres qui sont bien plus imposantes que celles du Moyen-Âge et plus espacées.

 

51_ND-Paris_3267

ND-Paris_3236

52_ND-Paris_3235R

ND-Paris_3225R

ND-Paris_3213

ND-Paris_3207R

52_ND-Paris_3204R

ND-Paris_9736R

ND-Paris_7280 (2)

ND-Paris_7167

ND-Paris_7151 (1)

ND-Paris-11_7150

ND-Paris_6542

 

allumer une bougie à notre-dame