The stained glass windows of the cloister

During the Grand restoration campaign of the Cathedral undertaken by Lassus and Viollet-le-Duc, the sacristy was rebuilt entirely (the local precedents, raised by Soufflot in 1758, had been enormously damaged after the riots of 29 July 1830 and especially on 14 February 1831 where the archbishops Palace and the sacristy were looted and destroyed) between 1845 and 1850 in a style neo-Gothic on the southern flank of the choir.

The buildings are arranged around a small cloister square of which two arms give access to the Cathedral. The arches of this cloister are lined with eighteen verrières who were executed by Gérente according to the cartons of Steinheil.

These glass roofs represent the Legend of Saint Genevieve , patron saint of the city of Paris. Beneath each stained-glass window, a Latin inscription narrat the scene.

At the medallion of the main Bay of the cloister, Gérente realized, always on the drawings of Steinhel, a stained glass window taking up the scene of the coronation of the Virgin.

Only the last six scenes of the life of St. Genevieve are accessible to visitors in the Treasury corridor.

Below, the eighteen scenes, their commentary is inspired by the one that Marcel Aubert made (Notre-Dame de Paris, historical and archaeological record. Chez Longuet, 1909).

 

_MG_2409R

 

 

1. Sainte Geneviève has just been born, in Nanterre near Paris. We are in 423. She is lying next to her mother, Gallo-Roman, and her father, Frank. At their side, appears Saint Germain of Auxerre and the angels who sing the praise of the Holy.

1. Sainte Geneviève has just been born, in Nanterre near Paris. We are in 423. She is lying next to her mother, Gallo-Roman, and her father, Frank. At their side, appears Saint Germain of Auxerre and the angels who sing the praise of the Holy.

 

2. a few years later, in 429, the Bishops of Saint Germain of Auxerre and Saint Loup de Troyes, going to England to fight heresy, rest in Nanterre. In the midst of the crowd, Saint Germain distinguishes Geneviève, blessed her, and announces the glorious mission to which God calls him and gives him a miraculous medal marked by the sign of the cross.

2. a few years later, in 429, the Bishops of Saint Germain of Auxerre and Saint Loup de Troyes, going to England to fight heresy, rest in Nanterre. In the midst of the crowd, Saint Germain distinguishes Geneviève, blessed her, and announces the glorious mission to which God calls him and gives him a miraculous medal marked by the sign of the cross.

 

3. a solemn Feast day, St. Genevieve wishes to follow her mother to the Church; the latter wanting to prevent it, beating it, carried away by its anger. God punished him immediately by making her blind, and it was only eighteen months later, on the prayers of his daughter, that she would regain her sight.

3. a solemn Feast day, St. Genevieve wishes to follow her mother to the Church; the latter wanting to prevent it, beating it, carried away by its anger. God punished him immediately by making her blind, and it was only eighteen months later, on the prayers of his daughter, that she would regain her sight.

 

4. after the death of his parents, Sainte Geneviève comes to live in Paris, at her godmother's. She falls seriously ill, and for three days remains as dead. When she recovered, she recounted that an Angel had transported her to paradise and that she had contemplated the delights and joys that God reserved for his elect.

4. after the death of his parents, Saint Genevieve comes to live in Paris, at her godmother's. She falls seriously ill, and for three days remains as dead. When she recovered, she recounted that an Angel had transported her to paradise and that she had contemplated the delights and joys that God reserved for his elect.

5. but the Parisians, instead of honoring the Saint for her merits, mutate against her, and when, at the announcement of the arrival of the Huns and their Chief Attila in 451, she exhorts them to the resistance, they decide to get rid of them. They already deliberate between them if they stoned her or if they drag her to the Seine, when the Archdeacon arrives from Auxerre, who says to them,

5. but the Parisians, instead of honoring the Saint for her merits, mutate against her, and when, at the announcement of the arrival of the Huns and their Chief Attila in 451, she exhorts them to the resistance, they decide to get rid of them. They already deliberate between them if they stoned her or if they drag her to the Seine, when the Archdeacon arrives from Auxerre, who says to them, "keep yourselves well of committing such a horrible deed; the one you want to punish as a criminal has been elected from God from the bosom of her mother, as we have often heard from Germain our blessed Bishop, and here are sacred and blessed gifts that I bring to him from him. "these words all renounce their primer s designs, and they listen to St. Genevieve (6) who begs them not to abandon the city.

 

6. following the words of the Archdeacon of Auxerre (5), the Parisians renounce their evil designs, and they listen to Saint Genevieve who begs them not to abandon the city.

6. following the words of the Archdeacon of Auxerre (5), the Parisians renounce their evil designs, and they listen to St. Genevieve who begs them not to abandon the city.

 

7. However, the Saint and her companions obtain from heaven, through their prayers, their fasting and their Vigil, the remoteness of the barbarians.

7. However, the Saint and her companions obtain from heaven, through their prayers, their fasting and their Vigil, the remoteness of the barbarians.

 

8. as St. Genevieve was going to pray at night, holding a lighted candle in her hand, the devil extinguished the torch, but an Angel immediately turned it back on.

8. as St. Genevieve was going to pray at night, holding a lighted candle in her hand, the devil extinguished the torch, but an Angel immediately turned it back on.

 

9. King Childeric held St. Genevieve in singular esteem and knew nothing to refuse him, fearing one day that she would take away prisoners he wanted to kill, he came out of Paris with them and closed the doors behind him, but having knowledge she rushes to her afterwards. The doors miraculously open before her, and she soon brings back the unfortunate ones (10), to whom the King granted life.

9. King Childeric held St. Genevieve in singular esteem and knew nothing to refuse him, fearing one day that she would kidnap him from the prisoners he wanted to kill, he came out of Paris with them and closed the doors behind him, but having knowledge she rushes to her afterwards. The doors miraculously open before her, and she soon brings back the unfortunate ones (10), to whom the King granted life.

 

10. St. Genevieve brings the condemned (9) before the King who grants them life.

10. St. Genevieve brings the condemned (9) before the King who grants them life.

 

11. almost thirty years after the expulsion of Attila and the Huns, Clovis, still idolatrous, assiege Paris. During this terrible siege, several quarters are prey to flames and famine is cruelly rampant. St. Genevieve goes to Arcis-sur-Aube to rescue her countrymen.

11. almost thirty years after the expulsion of Attila and the Huns, Clovis, still idolatrous, assiege Paris. During this terrible siege, several quarters are prey to flames and famine is cruelly rampant. St. Genevieve goes to Arcis-sur-Aube to rescue her countrymen.

 

12. on the road (11), arriving in a certain place of the river where a tree makes navigation very perilous, it orders the boatmen to stop and she commands the tree to fall down; two hideous monsters escape by spreading in the air a foul odor; and since then there has never been a shipwreck at this place.

12. on the road (11), arriving in a certain place of the river where a tree makes navigation very perilous, it orders the boatmen to stop and she commands the tree to fall down; two hideous monsters escape by spreading in the air a foul odor; and since then there has never been a shipwreck at this place.

 

13. soon after the Holy woman earns supplies to the starving city and distributes bread to the poor.

13. soon after the Holy woman earns supplies to the starving city and distributes bread to the poor.

 

14. many miracles are still occurring through St. Genevieve. It gives sight to a man and a young girl.

14. many miracles are still occurring through St. Genevieve. It gives sight to a man and a young girl.

 

15. another miracle, as the workers raise under the direction of the Holy one chapel in Saint Denis, the drink is lacking; Genevieve goes into prayer, and the vases are filled.

15. another miracle, as the workers raise under the direction of the Holy one chapel in Saint Denis, the drink is lacking; Genevieve goes into prayer, and the vases are filled.

 

16. it is still the rain that falls during the harvest and threatens to destroy the harvest; the Holy woman prostrate herself to the ground and obtains from the heavens that the scourge recedes.

16. it is still the rain that falls during the harvest and threatens to destroy the harvest; the Holy woman prostrate herself to the ground and obtains from the heavens that the scourge recedes.

 

17. at about 512, Sainte Geneviève, then over eighty years old, died in the midst of those whom she had always protected; One places on his tomb a lamp whose oil burns incessantly, without it being necessary to renew it.

17. at about 512, Saint Genevieve, then over eighty years old, died in the midst of those whom she had always protected; One places on his tomb a lamp whose oil burns incessantly, without it being necessary to renew it.

 

18. after her death, she remained the patron saint of Paris; many times his shrine is carried in procession to keep away from the city a plague or to draw on these inhabitants the blessings of heaven. His tomb is a very popular place of pilgrimage: the sick, the blind and the possessed of fire,

18. after her death, she remained the patron saint of Paris; many times his shrine is carried in procession to keep away from the city a plague or to draw on these inhabitants the blessings of heaven. His tomb is a very popular place of pilgrimage: the sick, the blind and the possessed of fire, "the ardent", are urged to obtain through his intercession the healing of their evils.

 

NDP 2007 02 21-145

 

Light a candle at Notre-Dame

Les vitraux du cloître

Au cours de la grande campagne de restauration de la cathédrale entreprise par Lassus et Viollet-le-Duc, la sacristie fut reconstruite entièrement (les précédents locaux, élevés par Soufflot en 1758, avaient été énormément endommagés suites aux émeutes du 29 juillet 1830 et surtout du 14 février 1831 où le palais archiépiscopal et la sacristie furent pillés et détruits) entre 1845 et 1850 dans un style néo-gothique sur le flanc sud du chœur.

Les bâtiments sont disposés autour d’un petit cloître carré dont deux bras donnent accès à la cathédrale. Les arcatures de ce cloître sont garnies de dix-huit verrières qui furent exécutés par Gérente d’après les cartons de Steinheil.

Ces verrières représentent la Légende de Sainte Geneviève , sainte patronne de la Ville de Paris. Sous chaque vitrail, une inscription latine narre la scène.

Au médaillon de la principale baie du cloître, Gérente réalisa,  toujours sur les dessins de Steinhel, un vitrail reprenant la scène du Couronnement de la Vierge.

Seules les six dernières scènes de la vie de Sainte Geneviève sont accessibles aux visiteurs dans le couloir du Trésor.

Ci-dessous, les dix-huit scènes, leur commentaire est inspiré de celui qu’en fit Marcel Aubert (Notre-Dame de Paris, Notice historique et archéologique. Chez Longuet, 1909).

 

_MG_2409R

 

 

1. Sainte Geneviève vient de naître, à Nanterre près de Paris. Nous sommes en 423. Elle est couchée près de sa mère, gallo-romaine, et de son père, franc. A leurs côtés, apparaît Saint Germain d’Auxerre et les anges qui chantent les louanges de la Sainte.

1. Sainte Geneviève vient de naître, à Nanterre près de Paris. Nous sommes en 423. Elle est couchée près de sa mère, gallo-romaine, et de son père, franc. A leurs côtés, apparaît saint Germain d’Auxerre et les anges qui chantent les louanges de la Sainte.

 

2. Quelques années plus tard, en 429, les évêques Saint Germain d’Auxerre et Saint Loup de Troyes, allant en Angleterre pour combattre l’hérésie, se reposent à Nanterre. Au milieu de la foule, Saint Germain distingue Geneviève, la bénit, lui annonce la glorieuse mission à laquelle Dieu l’appelle et lui remet une médaille miraculeuse marquée du Signe de la Croix.

2. Quelques années plus tard, en 429, les évêques saint Germain d’Auxerre et saint Loup de Troyes, allant en Angleterre pour combattre l’hérésie, se reposent à Nanterre. Au milieu de la foule, saint Germain distingue Geneviève, la bénit, lui annonce la glorieuse mission à laquelle Dieu l’appelle et lui remet une médaille miraculeuse marquée du Signe de la Croix.

 

3. Un jour de fête solennelle, Sainte Geneviève désire suivre sa mère à l’église ; cette dernière voulant l’en empêcher, la bat, emportée par sa colère. Dieu l’en punit aussitôt en la rendant aveugle, et ce n’est que dix-huit mois plus tard, sur les prières de sa fille, qu’elle retrouvera la vue.

3. Un jour de fête solennelle, sainte Geneviève désire suivre sa mère à l’église ; cette dernière voulant l’en empêcher, la bat, emportée par sa colère. Dieu l’en punit aussitôt en la rendant aveugle, et ce n’est que dix-huit mois plus tard, sur les prières de sa fille, qu’elle retrouvera la vue.

 

4. Après la mort de ses parents, Sainte Geneviève vient habiter à Paris, chez sa marraine. Elle y tombe gravement malade, et pendant trois jours demeure comme morte. Lorsqu’elle se rétabli, elle raconte qu’un ange l’avait transportée au Paradis et qu’elle y avait contemplé les délices et les joies que Dieu réserve à ses élus.

4. Après la mort de ses parents, sainte Geneviève vient habiter à Paris, chez sa marraine. Elle y tombe gravement malade, et pendant trois jours demeure comme morte. Lorsqu’elle se rétabli, elle raconte qu’un ange l’avait transportée au Paradis et qu’elle y avait contemplé les délices et les joies que Dieu réserve à ses élus.

5. Mais les parisiens, au lieu d’honorer la Sainte pour ses mérites, murmurent contre elle, et lorsque, à l’annonce de l’arrivée des Huns et de leur chef Attila en 451, elle les exhorte à la résistance, ils décident de s’en débarrasser. Ils délibèrent déjà entre eux s’ils la lapidèrent ou s’ils la traînent à la Seine, lorsqu’arrive d’Auxerre l’archidiacre qui leur dit : « Gardez-vous bien de commettre une si horrible action ; celle que vous voulez punir comme une criminelle a été élue de Dieu dès le sein de sa mère, comme nous l’avons souvent ouï dire à Germain notre bienheureux évêque, et voici des présents sacrés et bénis que je lui apporte de sa part. » A ces mots tous renoncent à leurs mauvais desseins, et ils écoutent Sainte Geneviève (6) qui les supplie de ne pas abandonner la ville.

5. Mais les parisiens, au lieu d’honorer la Sainte pour ses mérites, murmurent contre elle, et lorsque, à l’annonce de l’arrivée des Huns et de leur chef Attila en 451, elle les exhorte à la résistance, ils décident de s’en débarrasser. Ils délibèrent déjà entre eux s’ils la lapidèrent ou s’ils la traînent à la Seine, lorsqu’arrive d’Auxerre l’archidiacre qui leur dit : « Gardez-vous bien de commettre une si horrible action ; celle que vous voulez punir comme une criminelle a été élue de Dieu dès le sein de sa mère, comme nous l’avons souvent ouï dire à Germain notre bienheureux évêque, et voici des présents sacrés et bénis que je lui apporte de sa part. » A ces mots tous renoncent à leurs mauvais desseins, et ils écoutent sainte Geneviève (6) qui les supplie de ne pas abandonner la ville.

 

6. Suite aux paroles de l’Archidiacre d’Auxerre (5), les parisiens renoncent à leurs mauvais desseins, et ils écoutent Sainte Geneviève qui les supplie de ne pas abandonner la ville.

6. Suite aux paroles de l’Archidiacre d’Auxerre (5), les parisiens renoncent à leurs mauvais desseins, et ils écoutent sainte Geneviève qui les supplie de ne pas abandonner la ville.

 

7. Cependant la Sainte et ses compagnes obtiennent du ciel, par leurs prières, leurs jeûnes et leurs veilles, l’éloignement des barbares.

7. Cependant la Sainte et ses compagnes obtiennent du ciel, par leurs prières, leurs jeûnes et leurs veilles, l’éloignement des barbares.

 

8. Comme Sainte Geneviève allait prier la nuit, tenant à la main un cierge allumé, le diable éteignit le flambeau, mais un ange le ralluma aussitôt.

8. Comme sainte Geneviève allait prier la nuit, tenant à la main un cierge allumé, le diable éteignit le flambeau, mais un ange le ralluma aussitôt.

 

9. Le roi Childéric tenait Sainte Geneviève en singulière estime et ne savait rien lui refuser, aussi craignant un jour qu’elle ne lui enlevât des prisonniers qu’il voulait faire mourir, il sort de Paris avec eux et fait fermer les portes derrière lui, mais en ayant connaissance elle se précipite à sa suite. Les portes s’ouvrent miraculeusement devant elle, et elle ramène bientôt les malheureux (10), à qui le roi a accordé la vie.

9. Le roi Childéric tenait sainte Geneviève en singulière estime et ne savait rien lui refuser, aussi craignant un jour qu’elle ne lui enlevât des prisonniers qu’il voulait faire mourir, il sort de Paris avec eux et fait fermer les portes derrière lui, mais en ayant connaissance elle se précipite à sa suite. Les portes s’ouvrent miraculeusement devant elle, et elle ramène bientôt les malheureux (10), à qui le roi a accordé la vie.

 

10. Sainte Geneviève ramène les condamnés (9) devant le roi qui leur accorde la vie.

10. Sainte Geneviève ramène les condamnés (9) devant le roi qui leur accorde la vie.

 

11. Près de trente ans après l’éloignement d’Attila et des Huns, Clovis, encore idolâtre, assiège Paris. Durant ce terrible siège, plusieurs quartiers sont la proie des flammes et la famine sévit cruellement. Sainte Geneviève part chercher des vivres à Arcis-sur-Aube pour sauver ses compatriotes.

11. Près de trente ans après l’éloignement d’Attila et des Huns, Clovis, encore idolâtre, assiège Paris. Durant ce terrible siège, plusieurs quartiers sont la proie des flammes et la famine sévit cruellement. Sainte Geneviève part chercher des vivres à Arcis-sur-Aube pour sauver ses compatriotes.

 

12. Sur la route (11), arrivée en un certain endroit de la rivière où un arbre rend la navigation très périlleuse, elle ordonne aux bateliers de s’arrêter et elle commande à l’arbre de s’abattre ; deux monstres hideux s’en échappent en répandant dans l’air une odeur nauséabonde ; et depuis ce temps il n’y eut plus jamais de naufrage à cet endroit.

12. Sur la route (11), arrivée en un certain endroit de la rivière où un arbre rend la navigation très périlleuse, elle ordonne aux bateliers de s’arrêter et elle commande à l’arbre de s’abattre ; deux monstres hideux s’en échappent en répandant dans l’air une odeur nauséabonde ; et depuis ce temps il n’y eut plus jamais de naufrage à cet endroit.

 

13. Peu après la Sainte rapporte des provisions à la ville affamée et distribue du pain aux pauvres.

13. Peu après la Sainte rapporte des provisions à la ville affamée et distribue du pain aux pauvres.

 

14. De nombreux miracles se produisent encore par l’intermédiaire de Sainte Geneviève. Elle rend la vue à un homme et à une jeune fille.

14. De nombreux miracles se produisent encore par l’intermédiaire de sainte Geneviève. Elle rend la vue à un homme et à une jeune fille.

 

15. Autre miracle, comme les ouvriers élèvent sous la direction de la Sainte une chapelle à Saint Denis, la boisson vient à manquer ; Geneviève se met en prière, et les vases sont remplis.

15. Autre miracle, comme les ouvriers élèvent sous la direction de la Sainte une chapelle à Saint Denis, la boisson vient à manquer ; Geneviève se met en prière, et les vases sont remplis.

 

16. C’est encore la pluie qui tombe pendant la moisson et menace de détruire la récolte ; la Sainte se prosterne à terre et obtient du ciel que le fléau s’éloigne.

16. C’est encore la pluie qui tombe pendant la moisson et menace de détruire la récolte ; la Sainte se prosterne à terre et obtient du ciel que le fléau s’éloigne.

 

17. Vers 512, Sainte Geneviève, alors âgée de plus de quatre-vingts ans, s’éteint au milieu de ceux qu’elle avait toujours protégés ; on place sur son tombeau une lampe dont l’huile brûle sans cesse, sans qu’il soit besoin de la renouveler.

17. Vers 512, sainte Geneviève, alors âgée de plus de quatre-vingts ans, s’éteint au milieu de ceux qu’elle avait toujours protégés ; on place sur son tombeau une lampe dont l’huile brûle sans cesse, sans qu’il soit besoin de la renouveler.

 

18. Après sa mort, elle reste la sainte patronne de Paris ; maintes fois sa châsse est portée en procession pour éloigner de la ville un fléau ou attirer sur ces habitants les bénédictions du ciel. Son tombeau est un lieu de pèlerinage très fréquenté : les malades, les aveugles et les possédés du feu, « les ardents », s’y pressent pour obtenir par son intercession la guérison de leurs maux.

18. Après sa mort, elle reste la sainte patronne de Paris ; maintes fois sa châsse est portée en procession pour éloigner de la ville un fléau ou attirer sur ces habitants les bénédictions du ciel. Son tombeau est un lieu de pèlerinage très fréquenté : les malades, les aveugles et les possédés du feu, « les ardents », s’y pressent pour obtenir par son intercession la guérison de leurs maux.

 

NDP 2007 02 21-145

 

allumer une bougie à notre-dame