The bells

In one of the towers of Notre-Dame is a huge Bell called the Emmanuel...

In the South Tower is the biggest Bell of Notre-Dame known as the "Bourdon". It sounds for the great festivals like Christmas, Easter, Pentecost, or all Saints ' day and at major events like the death of Pope John Paul II and the election of his successor Benedict XVI.
The Bourdon was melted, more than 300 years ago and baptized Emmanuel by his godfather Louis XIV. It weighs 13 tons and its wing, the part inside the Bell that taps against the walls to produce the sound, is 500 kilos.

In the North Tower, four bells ensure the daily ringing of the Cathedral's hours and offices. They weigh between 2 000 and 3 000 kilos each.

The bells by their ringtones punctuated the lives of the faithful, calling for prayer, marking the offices of their solemnity. In the past, they also allowed all inhabitants to know the time; although today everyone has a watch, it continues to spell the time signifying that the Cathedral is a place of life.

Light a candle at Notre-Dame

Les Cloches

Dans l’une des tours de Notre-Dame se trouve une énorme cloche que l’on appelle le Bourdon Emmanuel

Dans la tour Sud se trouve la plus grosse cloche de Notre-Dame que l’on appelle le « Bourdon ». Elle sonne pour les grandes fêtes comme Noël, Pâques, Pentecôte, ou la Toussaint et lors de grands évènements comme récemment la mort du Pape Jean-paul II et l’élection de son successeur Benoît XVI.
Le Bourdon a été fondu, il y a plus de 300 ans et baptisé Emmanuel par son parrain Louis XIV. Il pèse 13 tonnes et son battant, la partie à l’intérieur de la cloche qui tape contre les parois pour produire le son, fait 500 kilos.

Dans la tour Nord, quatre cloches assurent les sonneries quotidiennes des heures et des offices de la cathédrale. Elles pèsent entre 2 000 et 3 000 kilos chacune.

Les cloches par leurs sonneries rythment la vie des fidèles, appelant à la prière, marquant les offices de leur solennité. Autrefois, elles permettaient aussi à tous les habitants de connaître l’heure ; bien qu’aujourd’hui tout le monde dispose d’une montre, elle continuent a égrainer le temps signifiant que la cathédrale est un lieu de Vie.

allumer une bougie à notre-dame